Verified from official source on 12 Sept 2026
OPTCL Apprentice 2026 — 100 Posts, Apply by 01 Oct (Odisha)

- Total Posts
- 100
- Minimum Qualification
- Diploma / ITI
Overview
Odisha Power Transmission Corporation Limited (OPTCL), a Government of Odisha Undertaking engaged in the transmission of electricity across the state, has released OPTCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026 under Advertisement No. OPTCL-14013/9/2026-T AND D - Part (1) - 14389, dated 29 August 2026, for the engagement of 100 Degree, Diploma and ITI Trade Apprentices. This Odisha government job 2026 opportunity covers Degree Engineering (Electrical, IT, Telecom), Degree Non-Engineering (HR, Finance, Law), Diploma Technician (Electrical, Telecom, Civil) and ITI Trade (Electrician, Electronic Mechanic) apprenticeships for a one-year duration. Only Indian nationals belonging to the state of Odisha, aged 18 years or above, holding the discipline-specific qualification, are eligible to apply. Selected apprentices will train at various OPTCL units and offices across Odisha under the Apprentices Act, 1961. The selection process for OPTCL Apprentice 2026 is based on academic merit, written test, or interview, as applicable to the specific discipline — the notification does not specify one common formula for all disciplines. The stipend for OPTCL Apprentice 2026 ranges from Rs. 9,600 per month for ITI Trade Apprentices to Rs. 12,300 per month for Degree Engineering and Degree Non-Engineering Apprentices, with Diploma Technician Apprentices receiving Rs. 10,900 per month; completing the apprenticeship does not confer any right to employment with OPTCL. The OPTCL Apprentice 2026 online application is a two-stage process: candidates must first register on the NATS 2.0 portal (Degree/Diploma disciplines) or the NAPS portal (ITI Trade disciplines), then apply through the OPTCL website from 2 September 2026. The last date to apply for OPTCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026 is 1 October 2026 (11:59 PM). No application fee is charged for any category. Candidates must read the complete official OPTCL notification PDF at optcl.co.in before applying, since eligibility and stipend differ by discipline.
Qualification
- Degree Electrical: BE/B.Tech in Electrical / Electrical & Electronics Engineering or equivalent
- Degree IT: BE/B.Tech in Computer Science / Information Technology or equivalent
- Degree Telecom: BE/B.Tech in Electronics & Telecommunication Engineering / Applied Electronics & Instrumentation Engineering / Electronics & Communication Engineering or equivalent
- Diploma Electrical: Diploma in Electrical Engineering or equivalent
- Diploma Civil: Diploma in Civil Engineering or equivalent
- Diploma Telecom: Diploma in Electronics & Telecommunication Engineering / Applied Electronics & Instrumentation Engineering or equivalent
- Human Resources (Degree Non-Engineering): MBA (HR) / MSW / PG Degree in Personnel Management / Personnel Management & Industrial Relations or equivalent
- Finance (Degree Non-Engineering): M.Com (Finance/Accounts) from a recognised university/institution, or B.Com with Intermediate in CMA from ICAI, or equivalent
- Law (Degree Non-Engineering): LLM / LLB or equivalent
- ITI Electrician: ITI in Electrician Trade or equivalent
- ITI Electronic Mechanic: ITI in Electronics Mechanic Trade or equivalent
- All qualifications must be from a recognised Board/Council/University/Institute, completed as a regular full-time course; for Non-Engineering Apprentice posts, graduation in non-engineering disciplines (BA, B.Sc, B.Com, BBA or equivalent) is preferred
Age Limit
- Minimum age: 18 years, as on 1 August 2026
- No maximum age limit specified in the notification
- Candidates who have already completed apprenticeship training under the Apprentices Act, 1961, or who have 1 year or more of job experience, are not eligible
- Candidates must hold the passing certificate or final year marksheet of the required qualification as on 1 July 2026
- The qualifying examination must have been passed in Academic Year 2023-24, 2024-25, or 2025-26, and the gap between passing and the date of joining Apprenticeship Training must not exceed 3 years
Eligibility
- Only Indian nationals belonging to the state of Odisha are eligible to apply
- Post-specific educational qualification as detailed in the Qualification field above — verify against the specific discipline before applying
- Minimum age 18 years as on 1 August 2026; no upper age limit specified
- Candidates must meet the minimum physical standard prescribed in Clause 4 of the Apprenticeship Rules, 1992, and amendments thereof
- Candidates who have already completed apprenticeship training under the Apprentices Act, 1961, or hold 1+ years of job experience, are not eligible
- Candidates currently appearing for (not yet passed) the essential qualifying examination are not eligible
- The qualifying examination must have been passed during Academic Year 2023-24, 2024-25 or 2025-26, with a gap of no more than 3 years before joining the Apprenticeship Training
- Candidates must be registered on the NAPS/NATS portal, with their bank account Aadhaar-seeded for Direct Benefit Transfer of the stipend
- Apprenticeship is for a fixed one-year period and does not confer any right to future employment with OPTCL
Important Dates
Advertisement Date
29 Aug 2026
Application Start
02 Sept 2026
Last Date to Apply
01 Oct 2026
Application Fee
- No application fee is mentioned anywhere in this notification, for any category
Salary
- Degree Engineering Apprentice: Rs. 12,300 per month
- Degree Non-Engineering Apprentice: Rs. 12,300 per month
- Diploma Technician Apprentice: Rs. 10,900 per month
- ITI Trade Apprentice: Rs. 9,600 per month
- OPTCL pays 50% of the stipend for Degree Engineering, Diploma Technician and Degree Non-Engineering apprentices, with the remaining 50% paid by the Board of Apprenticeship Training via Direct Benefit Transfer; the funding split for ITI Trade stipend is not separately specified
How to Apply
- Register on the relevant government apprenticeship portal first — Degree Engineering (Electrical, IT, Telecom), Diploma (Electrical, Telecom, Civil) and Degree Non-Engineering (HR, Finance, Law) aspirants register on the NATS 2.0 portal at nats.education.gov.in
- ITI Trade apprentices (Electrician, Electronic Mechanic) register instead on the NAPS portal at apprenticeshipindia.gov.in
- Ensure your Aadhaar is seeded with your bank account for Direct Benefit Transfer of the stipend
- After generating your registration/enrolment number from NATS/NAPS, visit www.optcl.co.in
- Click "HRD Section" on the OPTCL homepage
- Click "Training & Development"
- Click "Advertisement for Engagement of Apprentices 2026"
- Click "Apply Online" and follow the detailed step-by-step procedure uploaded on that page
- Submit the application before 1 October 2026 (11:59 PM); no application fee is required
Selection Process
- Academic Merit
- Written Test (where applicable)
- Interview (where applicable)
Vacancy Details
| Post Name | No. of Posts |
|---|---|
| Degree Electrical | 32 |
| Degree IT | 1 |
| Degree Telecom | 1 |
| Human Resources | 4 |
| Finance | 2 |
| Law | 1 |
| Diploma Electrical | 20 |
| Diploma Telecom | 1 |
| Diploma Civil | 2 |
| ITI Electrician | 33 |
| ITI Electronic Mechanic | 3 |
Application Fee
| Category | Fee |
|---|---|
| General / OBC / EWS | Nil |
| SC / ST / PwD / Female | Nil |
Official Links
GovtJobs.io is an independent portal and is not affiliated with any government body. Always confirm details on the official website.
